Do You Self-Sabotage? – Denise Linn

Watch your thoughts and notice the number of questions that you ask yourself during the day. Some are simple such as, “I wonder if I have time to make the bus?” or “Should I tell that woman she has spinach in her teeth?” However, you might notice some rather disturbing recurring questions, such as, “Why does this always happen to me?” “What is wrong with me?” “Why do I eat so much?” “Why am I unable to lose weight?” or “When will I ever learn?” These kinds of questions are not empowering.


“… today, whenever you find yourself thinking an unworthy question, I would like you to immediately replace it with a worthy or noble question.”

Whenever you ask a question, the subconscious mind searches—almost like a computer—to find the answer. For example, if you ask, “Why do I always sabotage my relationships?” your subconscious will come up with an answer, such as “You have lousy relationships because that is all you deserve” or some other nonproductive answer. It does not doubt the premise of your question; it just tries to find an answer.

These kinds of questions are called “unworthy questions.” Whenever you ask yourself a negative or unworthy question, you will get a negative answer, which creates more negativity in your life. Negative questions thwart the opportunity to get the solution to a problem and keep you in a victim mode.

So today, whenever you find yourself thinking an unworthy question, I would like you to immediately replace it with a worthy or noble question. For example, if you find yourself asking, “Why did this happen to me?” immediately replace it with a noble question, such as, “What value can I get out of this situation?”

Noble questions can be better than affirmations because they lead to action, and once you are in action mode, you will feel that you are in control. You can even periodically create noble questions for yourself, such as “How can I experience even more joy and love in my life right now?” Your mind does not doubt the premise that you are already experiencing joy, so your being responds by feeling good!

Your subconscious mind also begins to search for answers to your questions. For example, if you ask yourself, “How can I feel and be even more abundant?” your subconscious mind may come up with some fabulous creative ideas for you to become more prosperous. But if you ask, “Why am I always broke?” your subconscious mind will not doubt your premise that you are poor, and may give you an answer such as “You are broke because you do not work hard enough!” which does not empower you.

Today, create one inspiring noble question to repeat over and over again:

* “How can I love and appreciate myself even more right now?”
* “How can I make a positive difference in the lives of those I love?”
* “How can I radiate even greater health?”

Denise Linn, the bestselling author of 16 books, has researched healing traditions from cultures around the world for more than 35 years. Denise will be appearing at I Can Do It 2011, July-August. For full details, keep an eye out on the events page on hayhouse.com.au

Comments
One Response to “Do You Self-Sabotage? – Denise Linn”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Marila Jara and Webpsicologica, Hay House Australia. Hay House Australia said: Stop self-sabotaging and start being a better you http://bit.ly/e75L1Q […]



Leave a Reply

