Finding the God/Goddess Within

In her bestselling book You Can Heal Your Life Louise Hay suggests an exercise in which she asks the person to pick up a small mirror, look into their eyes, say their name and the affirmation “I love and accept you exactly as you are.” If I were to suggest this to you now, would you embrace and feel enjoyment from this exercise? Or suggest to me – you CAN’T possibly do this!

Loving the Self allows each of us to experience a more authentic life, in which those problem ‘don’t work’ areas of our life magically disappear. In ancient times, civilizations sought the council of Gods and Goddesses to provide guidance and assistance with difficulties encountered in daily life. We too can access this assistance by connecting with the god/goddess within us, and enjoy the benefit of increased intuition, renewed energy, and improved insight of our Loving Self.

Finding the goddess within me was a major part of my spiritual growth and development and helped me face life’s challenges in a new way. I became free to experience myself in an amazing and ultimately liberating way. I no longer needed to look outside myself for approval because the divine soul was within me. My natural state became one of joy and gratitude, showing what is good for one is good for all, and that when one shines, the light benefits all.

I would advocate – becoming the King or Queen of the ‘self-timer’. I’m not talking about vanity or arrogance when you reach for the camera. I’m talking about developing a greater respect for ourselves, and the miracle of our bodies. Look at your image – even if you are having a hard time loving your body you can love the fact that it gives you the opportunity to experience and explore your potential. Regardless of its shape or size, smell or colour it gives you – Now! Love it for that.

Ladies, belly dance your way to Bollywood and Gentleman, become the Don Juan of the dance floor. Enjoy the motion of movement, the laughter of learning, the euphoria of true self-expression. Phrases like ‘I don’t know how’ or ‘I’m not good enough’ cease to exist when you become the God/Goddess of ‘Loving my true Self’. Your inner god/goddess has a palpable energy and enthusiasm that is contagious and beneficial to those around you. Your keen sense of spirit raises the vibration in a group situation and inspires others. You seek to connect with other goddesses – incorporating their loving and profound wisdom into your life.

“By working with the goddesses, you heal and empower your own inner feminine wisdom, which is within every woman and man. Your intuition is awakened, allowing you to be even more psychic. The goddesses also clear and open your heart chakra, which results in increased manifestation abilities. As we all awaken our own inner feminine power, our world becomes more balanced…” –Dr. Doreen Virtue creator of the Goddess Guidance Oracle Cards.

In connecting with the goddess within – I’ve blue-tacked a bright shiny jewel over my navel, tied a shimmy shawl around my hips, and have undulated my way across the lounge room floor. I’ve marveled at how the right light can make my eyes look bright, and in those 10 seconds on the self-timer – realized there’s ‘no time’ to feel self-consciousness. I’ve video-taped my shadow paying homage to the sun. I’ve looked in the mirror and said – ‘Wendy, I love and accept you just as you are.

Where does your inner god/goddess reside? What is the most personally empowering thing you have done – and did this change your life? What are your best tips for others to love and accept themselves as they are?

Wendy Harrison is a guest blogger for Hay House Australia – http://www.facebook.com/wendy.harrisonusherstanton?ref=ts

Comments
7 Responses to “Finding the God/Goddess Within”
  1. Hanna says:

    Here! here! or should that be hear hear!
    Wholeheartedly agree.
    I teach belly dance, from my own days as a student to now teacher it’s interesting to watch the progression of women. It makes me wonder why we don’t embrace our own womanhood more. Why we feel so self conscious of not only our own bodies but of the thoughts of those around us. Here’s a news flash, no one is acutally watching you, they are too busy feeling self conscious about themselves. To watch women of all sizes and ages develop and progress is a wonderful sight. Feeling good about ourselves is the first thing necessary before we can feel good about anything else in our lives. Funnily enough shimmying around the lounge room on your own, as daunting as it is, is a great start, but my challange is to find a group that you can join. Not only do you develop your dance skills but along the way you develop you too. That goddess as you put it comes to the fore, and once you’ve mastered the art of shaking and shimmying one of our many wobbly bits you realise the rest doesn’t matter. Truth be known the more that wobbles the better, accepting it is great loving it is better. As much as we all have that vain streak and like to be told we’re gorgeous, once you know you are it doesn’t really matter if you don’t hear it. But I agree the best person to tell you that they love you is you.
    I love being a goddess and I love me just the way I am. (not to say I can’t improve, but what I got isn’t too bad 😉

  2. I personally feel so blessed to have a body that functions so well. For years I spent hours at a time in the bathroom before heading off to school dispising what I saw. I experienced terrible self-loathing but now, I can honestly say that I love what I see, I love the way my body works and I love that I am alive!

    When I was 18 my father became a quadriplegic as a result of a work accident, since then, I have learned to love my body even more. Not for the look, but for the functionality. I still love the way it looks, but that is not so important. The fact that I am lucky enough to have a body that functions is enough for me.

    Thank you for your blog Wendy. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    • hayhouseoz says:

      Hi Wendy, how did you overcome your self-loathing? Affirmations? Better lifestyle choices? Would be great if you could share some more of your story so others can become empowered to awaken their goddess within too! The Hay House team x

    • Wendy Harrison - Angel Intuitive, Reiki Master, Health Practitoner and 'Goddess in Training' says:

      Thanks for the kind words Wendy – I have followed all your previous blog entries with interest and have really enjoyed your ideas and views on life. I’d love to read more about your concept of exercising the body with the mind – as I recognise the mind as an exceptionally powerful healing tool.

  3. Wendy Harrison - Angel Intuitive, Reiki Master, Health Practitoner and 'Goddess in Training' says:

    Even Goddesses have a bad-hair day……

    Over the years, the goddess within me has learnt to be bold in spirit. I’ve learnt to feel uplifted in simple daily activities, such as the endless running of errands for my children, talking with my elderly neighbor in a voice so loud the whole street can hear our conversation or the rare occasion of watching a ‘girlie’ movie that allows me to express my true-self in sobs and sniffles. I think of each new day as presenting an opportunity to set out with this newly-found-confidence in Self and embark on a fresh adventure. My inner-goddess has taught me – no longer do I get so caught up in the demands of everyday life that I miss the joy in spending time doing things I enjoy or spending time with those I love.

    I’d like to think through connection with my inner-goddess I have the power, courage and wisdom to accomplish great things. My accomplishment may be as simple as peacemaker to disgruntled workmates, diminishing family conflicts or providing a transformational presence in painful situations. I’d like to be a blessing to my world, by sharing more than I think I have, expressing new ideas which may promote change, by simply being the best person I can be.

    So imagine my dismay in discovering the goddess of ‘Do-it-ALL’ had come to stay, in my Sacred Temple! I hadn’t remembered placing an order with the Universe, on setting my intention in this particular way. How could this have happened – how, like so many of you, had I suddenly become busy trying to manage my life in everyone else’s way? Could it be – my inner-goddess was having her own bad hair day!

    I know – When I live my life from a point of intention, I consciously create my experiences. If I expect a joyful encounter, I receive a joyful encounter. If I see my day going smoothly, I create such a day. By setting my intention, I am determining what my life will look like each day. If I spend all my time communing with the goddess of ‘Do-it-ALL’ I’m guaranteed to feel emotionally and physically drained, lacking in inspiration and self-worth with little hope of ever truly connecting to my true goddess-within.

    I need not focus on the details of the where, the why and the how my unwanted houseguest had come to stay – but instead trust that my inner-most self recognised the ‘intruder alert’ and in my highest good sent the goddess of ‘Do-it-ALL’ smartly on her way! I set my intention (be kinder to ME) and let go of the outcome (what will everyone else say when I seemingly stop doing things their way!).

    Don’t be afraid to let your innermost god/goddess infuse your intentions with love, peace and understanding, knowing as Louise Hay would say – “All is well in my Life’.

    Namaste – “I honor the Spirit in you which is also in me.” – Deepak Chopra – ‘Buddha: A story of Enlightenment’

    • Wendy Harrison - Angel Intuitive, Reiki Master, Health Practitoner and 'Goddess in Training' says:

      On the subject of Goddesses – I drew from Doreen Virtue’s ‘Goddess Guidance Oracle Cards’ this morning, as a way of reaffirming my inner-goddess is on track. Holding the cards close to my heart – I asked for guidance – split the deck and Green Tara smiled up at me.

      GREEN TARA – Start Delegating! ‘Ask others (including me) to help you, instead of trying to do everything by yourself’.

      Has the purpose of writing this blog – and exposing the Goddess of ‘Do-it-ALL’ – heralded a message from a heavenly echelon to my higher-self? It would seem, I thought – as I raced away to start my day – the Goddess of ‘Do-it-ALL’ may not have been sent so smartly on her way! So with this in mind – I’m off for coffee with a friend, I think I’ll hire a DVD – it’s a grey stormy day – and my inner-goddess feels like lazing some time away.

      Thank you Green Tara for having your say!

      • hayhouseoz says:

        That is one of my favourite decks Wendy! I’ve been getting a lot of the ‘Independence’ card – wondering what it’s telling me… any advice? Christine x

Leave a Reply

