Are You Good to Yourself? – Doreen Virtue

Do you find yourself saying that you will only like yourself when you reach that perfect weight? Studies show that you need plenty of confidence in yourself in order to successfully lose weight. This is because you need to trust that you’ll stick with an eating and exercise plan; without this belief you’ll end up saying, “What’s the use?” and give up. Unless you like yourself, it’s impossible to have any trust, faith, or confidence in yourself.

If you haven’t been good to yourself in a while, it’s best to start with some basic steps I’ve outlined below. They may feel like superficial indulgences at first but believe me, they’re far from trivial – they’re designed to set the stage for learning how to be good to yourself. While doing these exercises, you may feel guilty or foolish. If you do, don’t try to stuff or ignore these feelings, but don’t let them stop you from performing each exercise. Remember that in return for your efforts, you’ll get what you’ve always wanted: happiness, self-love, and a healthier body.

Don’t make the mistake of waiting until you’re in the mood before beginning these steps. You’ll never be in the mood until you start to fell better about yourself. In other words, higher self-esteem follows the behaviour; first you act “as if” you like yourself, then the actual liking of yourself follows.

Replace Your Old Clothes

Throw away or donate all your worn out clothes, including pj’s and undergarments. Buy some attractive new clothes this week – buy clothing that fits you comfortably at your present weight. Remember, you deserve them now! By putting off treating yourself well, you virtually guarantee that weight loss won’t occur. You are affirming, through your behaviour, that your good is in the future, not in the here and now. Collect your “good”, starting right this minute!

Treat Yourself Special

Who would be the most special guest you could think of entertaining your home?  A movie star? An author? Well, guess what? You’re just as special. If fact, you’re even more special because you live with yourself every day. Here are examples of small things that make a big difference to how you feel about yourself. Try one activity every day for a week and notice how much better and more energized you feel:

–       Treat yourself to a pedicure, massage, or manicure

–       Keep a bouquet of fresh flowers in your home at all times

–       Take a luxurious bubble bath, complete with lit candles all around you

–       Go away for a mini vacation all by yourself

Make Positive Affirmations

Positive affirmations are self-enhancing statements that you say or write over and over about yourself. You eventually incorporate these statements into your self-image and increase your self-esteem. They replace the negative self-talk you may have grown accustomed to engaging in, such as “You can’t do that, you’ll always fail!”  I’d like you to repeat the statements below at least once a day for 30 days. Our mind’s ability to program is extremely powerful!

–       I feel good about who I am

–       I am a lovable person, and others are attracted to me

–       I achieve success in whatever I do

–       I deserve happiness

–       I have the right to change my life to suit my personal needs

–       I choose to make myself happy

–       I treat myself with respect and love

–       I take very good care of myself

–       Today, I’m taking steps towards a happier life

–       I love myself

This is an edited extract taken from The Yo-Yo Diet Syndrome by Doreen Virtue, available at all leading retailers.

Doreen Virtue will be holding her Angel Intuitive course November 2010. CLICK HERE for more details.

Leave a Reply

